Skip to navigation – Site map
  • ENS Éditions
  • ENS de Lyon

Présentation

 
Tracés: Revue de Sciences Humaines publishes research in the social sciences in two themed issues per year and a handful of special editions. These issues focus on an old debate that has taken a new turn due to current editorial or political circumstances, takes an idea that the various intellectual traditions and disciplines would usually address in isolation and submits it to examination from multiple perspectives, or explores an emerging field of thought. Tracés claims a true pluralism, as attested to by the variety of themes and approaches it publishes. The journal’s editorial committee is made up of young researchers from various disciplines and pursues a strong interdisciplinary project. This is manifested in the selection of articles, notes, translations, and interviews that make up each of the issues.

Latest issue
28/2015
Matières à jouer

Decks of cards, video game consoles or dolls are examples of how often play relies on a material basis. However, play has long been conceptualized without considering its relation to materiality, focusing instead on rules, imaginary worlds or narratives. Yet there is today a renewed interest in material and sensitive approaches to play, which this issue of Tracés contributes to.

Welcoming diverse approaches and fields of enquiry to tackle the role of materiality, this issue explores this complex notion and the limits of its heuristic value. The articles highlight how the material aspects of play embody various values, and testify to the way various material modes and symbolic dimensions can co-exist in one game. Insofar as materiality interacts and completes formalized rule systems, certain classical analyses of games can be examined in a new light. The contributions also show how materiality plays a decisive role in the players’ involvement in the game, participates in the play experience and contributes to creating and maintaining a social contract among players.

This issue of Tracés shows the relevance of an exploration of aspects of play that may not seem essential to the functioning of game itself, but which can guide or affect its fundamental premises. More generally, a focus on materiality prompts us to rethink the boundaries of play, whether temporal, spatial or socially situated, and to value aspects that are usually little considered by players and scholars alike.

Navigation – Plan du site
  • ENS Éditions
  • ENS de Lyon

Présentation

La revue de sciences humaines Tracés, éditée par ENS Éditions, réunit deux fois par an des auteurs issus de diverses disciplines autour d’un thème ou d’un problème commun traversant les sciences humaines. Parfois, il s’agit de rendre compte d’un débat ancien qui a pris un tour nouveau en raison de l’actualité éditoriale ou d’événements politiques. D’autres fois, l’ambition est de soumettre à une interrogation croisée une notion que les multiples traditions intellectuelles et disciplinaires abordent en ordre dispersé ou bien encore tenter des rapprochements plus spéculatifs autour d’un terme aux usages mal contrôlés. La conviction profonde de Tracés est que le dialogue interdisciplinaire est non seulement possible mais fécond.

Revue soutenue par l’Institut des Sciences Humaines et Sociales du CNRS.

 

Dernier numéro en ligne
33/2017
Revenir à la terre ?

Coming back to land ?

En ce moment où le changement global prend une consistance à la fois réelle et menaçante, un écho se crée entre le devenir de la Terre et le revenir de la terre. Attention aux majuscules ! Nous n’allons pas parler ici de la Terre avec une majuscule, de la planète toute singulière, la grosse bille bleue, mais de la terre en minuscule, l’humble matière rouge ou marron que l’on travaille, l’étendue que l’on partage ou que l’on conquiert, le sol qu’on arpente, le lieu d’où l’on vient, que l’on quitte, qui nous rappelle. La terre revient : on la pensait remisée dans les limbes d’un passé révolu, la richesse de ses significations élaguée par la modernité. Nous pensions que nous nous étions définitivement détachés des liens que la glèbe avait créés. Sous nos yeux, les voilà qui reprennent vigueur dans nos sciences, dans nos imaginaires, dans nos itinéraires de vie, dans nos futurs politiques. La terre revient : qu’a-t-elle à nous dire de nous-mêmes ? Qu’est-ce que ce revenir permet de penser ? Et comment revenir à la terre ?

Ce numéro de Tracés interroge la terre comme objet de pensée, comme enjeu de pouvoir et comme lieu d’exercice d’une multiplicité de puissances d’agir et de devenirs politiques. En assemblant dix contributions (traduction, note, dialogue et articles) de toutes les sciences humaines et sociales (géographie, histoire, philosophie, anthropologie), il cherche à éclairer différentes facettes du revenir de la terre – et ce faisant, à remettre la terre au cœur des interrogations du contemporain.